Board member biographies

Ziggy Switowski

Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO

Chairman (Non-Executive Director)

Dr Switkowski was appointed Executive Chairman of nbn on 3 October 2013, and reverted to the role of Non-Executive Chairman from 2 April 2014 following the appointment of Mr Bill Morrow as Chief Executive Officer.

Dr Switkowski is Chairman of the Suncorp Group and a Director of listed companies Tabcorp Holdings and Oil Search Ltd. He is Chancellor of RMIT University.

Dr Switkowski is a former Chairman of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and Opera Australia. He has previously held positions as Chief Executive Officer of Telstra Corporation Limited and Optus Communications Ltd, and is a former Chairman and Managing Director of Kodak Australasia Pty Ltd.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences, the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Switkowski’s current term will expire on 2 October 2016.

Patrick Flannigan

Mr Patrick Flannigan

Non-Executive Director

Mr Flannigan was appointed as a Director on 11 November 2013. Mr Flannigan brings more than 25 years experience in infrastructure services and has held senior roles in both private and publicly listed companies.

Mr Flannigan established his own business, Integrated Maintenance Services in 2000 and was the founding Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Service Stream Ltd for six years from 2003. He managed network construction as nbn’s Head of Construction from 2009 to early 2011. In 2011 Mr Flannigan founded Utility Services Group and served as the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director until 30 June 2015 when the company was acquired by an ASX listed company.

Mr Flannigan is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and holds a Board position at the Australian Grand Prix Corporation.

Mr Flannigan’s current term will expire on 10 November 2016.

Simon Hackett

Mr Simon Hackett

Non-Executive Director

Mr Hackett was appointed as a Director on 11 November 2013. Mr Hackett brings more than 20 years internet industry experience and has been a noted opinion leader in the broadband debate for many years.

Mr Hackett holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Adelaide. While working at the university, he became a part of the team that created the Australian Academic and Research Network (AARNet), the first emergence of the internet in Australia.

He founded internet service provider, Internode in 1991 and licensed carrier Agile in 1997. The group grew to be a national provider of internet services using ADSL2+, optical fibre and fixed wireless infrastructure. Internode was one of the first companies to connect to the nbn™ network in 2010. The group was sold to iiNet Limited in early 2012.

Mr Hackett is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Computer Society.

Mr Hackett’s current term will expire on 10 November 2016.

Alison Lansley

Ms Alison Lansley

Non-Executive Director

Ms Lansley was appointed as a Director on 7 December 2012. Ms Lansley is an experienced corporate lawyer and business leader, with a long standing connection with the Australian telecommunications industry. She was a partner in the mergers and acquisitions practice of Mallesons Stephen Jaques for more than 16 years. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of Schools Connect Australia Limited, Port Fairy Spring Music Festival Inc and Community Food Marketplace Limited.

Ms Lansley previously served on a number of boards and authorities, including the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games Corporation, the Takeovers Panel, the Financial Services Institute of Australasia, and the national listing committee of the Australian Stock Exchange, and she headed the Victorian regional council of the Australian charity Redkite for several years.

Ms Lansley’s current term will expire on 6 December 2015.

Justin Milne

Mr Justin Milne

Non-Executive Director

Mr Milne was appointed as a Director on 11 November 2013. His career combines experience in telecommunications, marketing and media. As Chief Executive Officer of three of Australia’s largest internet service providers, OzEmail, MSN and BigPond, Mr Milne built significant media businesses in the online and mobile phone worlds. He has been responsible for many successful marketing campaigns and has been honoured with a number of awards.

He is Chairman of MYOB Group Ltd, Chairman of NetComm Wireless Ltd and a Non-Executive Director of Tabcorp Holdings Ltd, Members Equity Bank Ltd and SMS Management & Technology Ltd.

Mr Milne's current term will expire on 10 November 2016.

Bill Morrow

Mr Bill Morrow

Managing Director

Mr Morrow was appointed as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and a Director of nbn effective 2 April 2014. He joined nbn with a remit to ensure all homes, businesses and communities across Australia can access very fast broadband as soon as possible, at affordable prices and at least cost to taxpayers.

Mr Morrow is known for his global expertise in leading complex turnarounds and capital intensive start-ups. His industry experience spans fixed line broadband services, fixed wireless, mobile wireless, and gas and electric utilities.

Prior to his present role, Mr Morrow served as CEO of Vodafone Hutchison Australia in Sydney, CEO of Clearwire Corporation in Seattle, and CEO of Pacific Gas & Electric Co. in San Francisco. Previously, he was CEO of Vodafone’s Europe region through Vodafone Group PLC, and ran the group’s businesses in Japan and the UK. He is currently a Director of Broadcom Corporation.

Mr Morrow holds an Associate of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Condie College and a BA in Business Administration from National University in San Diego.

Mr Morrow’s current term as a Director will expire on 1 April 2017.

Kerry Schott

Dr Kerry Schott AO

Non-Executive Director

Dr Schott was appointed as a Director on 28 September 2012. Dr Schott is Chairman of the Moorebank Intermodal Company Ltd, a Director of TCorp NSW, Infrastructure Australia, the Whitlam Institute Board and a Patron and Board member of Infrastructure Partnerships Australia.

She is currently on the advisory boards of HealthShare and the Sydney Light Rail Project. She was the Managing Director and CEO of Sydney Water from 2006 to 2011 and was the CEO of the Commission of Audit for the NSW Government that completed in early 2012. She worked as an investment banker for more than 12 years including as Managing Director of Deutsche Bank and Executive Vice President of Bankers Trust Australia. Prior to becoming an investment banker, Dr Schott was a public servant and an academic.

She holds a Doctor of Philosophy from Oxford University, a Masters of Arts from the University of British Columbia, Vancouver and a Bachelor of Arts (First Class Honours) from the University of New England. She was recently awarded Honorary Doctorates from the University of Sydney and the University of Western Sydney.

Dr Schott’s current term will expire on 27 December 2015.