Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO FAA FTSE FAICD

Chairman/Non-Executive Director

Term of Office

Dr Switkowski was first appointed Executive Chairman of NBN Co effective 3 October 2013, and reverted to the role of Non-Executive Chairman from 2 April 2014 following the appointment of Mr Bill Morrow as Chief Executive Officer. His current term will expire on 2 October 2022.

Skills, Experience and Qualifications

Dr Switkowski is a former Chairman of the Suncorp Group, the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and Opera Australia. He has previously held positions as Chief Executive Officer of Telstra Corporation Limited and Optus Communications Ltd.

He has also served as a non-executive director of listed companies Tabcorp Holdings Limited, Healthscope, Oil Search, Lynas and Amcor.

Dr Switkowski is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences, the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He has a Bachelor of Science (Honours) and PhD (Nuclear Physics) from the University of Melbourne.

Current Company Directorships


Other Current Appointments

Dr Switkowski is Chancellor of RMIT University.

Board Committee Memberships

Dr Switkowski is Chair of the NBN Co's Financing Committee, Nominations Committee and People and Remuneration Committee, and attends NBN Co's Audit and Risk Committee.